LZ4 binding for Pharo

Hi guys. In the last days I wrote a Pharo binding for the LZ4 compressor (thanks to Camillo Bruni for pointing out), and so I wanted to share it. The main goal of LZ4 is to be really fast in compressing and uncompressing but not to obtain the biggest compression ratio possible.

The main reason why I wrote this binding is for Fuel serializer, with the idea of compressing/uncompressing the serialization (ByteArray) of a graph. Hopefully, with a little bit of overhead (for compressing and uncompressing), we gain a lot in writing to the stream (mostly with files and network). However, the binding is not coupled with Fuel at all.

I have documented all the steps to install and run LZ4 in Pharo here.  Please, if you give it a try, let me know if it worked or if you had problems.

I would also like to do some more benchmarks with it, because so far I only did a few. So if you have benchmarks to share with me, please do it.

So far LZ4 does not provide a streaming like API. We tried with Camillo to build a streaming API in Pharo (like ZLibWriteStream, GZipWriteStream, etc) but the results were not good enough. So we are still analyzing this.

Ahhh yes, for the binding I use Native Boost FFI, so I guess I will wrote a post soon to explain how to wrap a very simple library with NB.

See you,

3 responses to “LZ4 binding for Pharo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

